You are here

Faculty & Staff

Our faculty are active researchers and presenters at state, national and international conferences. They have numerous publications and serve as editors and on editorial boards of academic journals.  Members of our faculty have been honored as Distinguished Faculty, Endowed Professors, Outstanding Advisors and Research Mentors.  

Our students consistently rank our professors and advisors at levels above both the University and College averages. It is clear that we are eager to share what we know and what we are constantly learning with our students and with the world outside the University.

Academic Faculty

Shalini Arehole, PhD, CCC-A
Associate Professor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 221
Current CV
Phone 337-482-6723
Email: shalini@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Cochlear Implant; Central Auditory Processing; Auditory Evoked Potentials

Michael P. Cannito, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor, Doris B. Hawthorne- BORSF Endowed Professor II
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 207
Current CV
Phone 337-482-1077
Email: mcannito@louisiana.edu

Research Interests:
Motor Speech Disorders; Cognitive & Language Disorders in Adults; Neurogenic Voice Disorders; Acoustic Analysis of Speech

Holly L. Damico, PhD, CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 222
Current CV
Phone 337-482-5240
Email: hollydamico@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Language and Literacy; Clinical Education/Mentorship; Montessori Philosophy; Aphasia
Jack S. Damico, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor, Doris B. Hawthorne Eminent Scholar
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 205
Current CV
Phone 337-482-6551
Email: jsdamico@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Language and Literacy; Language Disorders in Children; Aphasia in Adults;  Descriptive and Authentic Assessment; Qualitative Research Applications to Social Action

Ryan L. Nelson, PhD, CCC-SLP
Associate Professor, Hawthorne-BORSF Endowed Professor I
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 246
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-6726
Email: rnelson@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Childhood Language Disorders; Literacy Construction and Usage; Qualitative Research Methodologies
John W. Oller, Jr., PhD
Professor, Hawthorne-BORSF Endowed Professor III
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 219
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-6722
Email: joller@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Diagnosis, Treatment, and Causation of Autism; Testing & Measurement of Intellectual, Social, & Psychological Variables; Applications of General Sign Theory in Language Use, Acquisition and Disorders
Judith D. Oxley, PhD, CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 223
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-1188
Email: judith.oxley@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Language Development and AAC; Memory and AAC; Acoustic and Electrophysiological Measures of Speech

Nancye C. Roussel, PhD, CCC-SLP
Associate Professor, Head of Department
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 236C
​Current CV
Phone: 337-482-6727
Email: ncroussel@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Voice Disorders; Speech Perception; Acoustic Analysis of Speech; Dysphagia
John A. Tetnowski, PhD, CCC-SLP
Professor, Ben Blanco-BORSF Endowed Professor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 211
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-6869
Email: tetnowski@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Stuttering; Evaluation and Assessment; Qualitative & Experimental Research Design

Clinical Faculty

Julie G. Andries, MEd, CCC-SLP
Director, Speech Language Hearing Center
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 201C
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-1182
Email: julieandries@louisiana.edu

Clinical Specialty: Augmentative/Alternative Communication; Cochlear Implants; Language Acquisition and Development

Karen E. Lynch, PhD, CCC-SLP
Clinical Instructor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 224
Phone: 337-482-6733
Email: karenlynch@louisiana.edu

Clinical/Research Interests: Adult Neurogenic Disorders; Literacy in Adults and Children; Dysphagia

Jennifer Tetnowski, PhD, CCC-SLP
Clinical Instructor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 220
Current CV
Phone: 337-482-1850
Email: j.tetnowski@louisiana.edu

Clinical/Research Interests: Aphasia; Traumatic Brain Injury; Dementia; Adult literacy; Voice; Motor Speech
Christine Weill, PhD, CCC-SLP
Clinical Instructor
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 215-C
Current CV
Phone 337-482-5241
Email: weill@louisiana.edu

Clinical/Research Interests: Autism Spectrum Disorders; Language and Literacy Development; Social Interaction
Diane Whittington, M.A., CCC-CLP
Clinical Instructor
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 215-B
Phone 337-482-6724
Email: whittington@louisiana.edu

Clinical Specialty: Stuttering; Articulation/Phonological Disorders; Autism

Adjunct Clinical Staff

Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
337-482-6879

 

Kathleen Abendroth, PhD, CCC-SLP
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
Email: abendroth@louisiana.edu
Clinical Specialty: Early Intervention (birth - 3 yrs), Language and Reading Intervention, Autism Spectrum Disorders

  Stacy Barton, MS, CCC-SLP
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
Phone 337-482-6879
Email:       @louisiana.edu
Clinical Specialty
Mona Breaux, MS, CCC-SLP
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
Phone 337-482-6879
Email:       @louisiana.edu
Clinical Specialty: Speech and Language Diagnostics
Jaime Crooks, MS, CCC-SLP
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
Phone 337-482-6879
Email:      @louisiana.edu
Clinical Specialty:
Anne Williams, MS CCC-SLP
Burke-Hawthorne, Room 218
Phone 337-482-6879
Email: awilliams@louisiana.edu
Clinical Specialty: Fluency Disorders; Early Language Disorders; Articulation and Phonology; Family Training

Administrative Staff

Roxanna Guillory Harris
Administrative Assistant III, Department Office
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 236
Phone 337-482-6721
Email: rharris@louisiana.edu
Stacie Thomas
Administrative Assistant III, Speech Language and Hearing Center
Burke-Hawthorne Hall, Room 201D
Phone 337-482-6490
Email: stacie@louisiana.edu